2022 Farinella Prize awarded to Julie Castill


Dr. Julie Castillo Rogues

Photo: Julie Castillo Rogues.
Opinion more

Credit: J. Castillo Rogues

Dr. Julie Castillo-Rogues, a planetary scientist working at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in California (US), and Dr. Martin Gotze, a physicist working at the Institute of Physics at the University of Bern (Switzerland), were jointly awarded the 2022 Paolo Farinella Prize for their contributions. prominent in the field ofAsteroids: physics, dynamics, modeling, and observations.. The award ceremony took place during the Europlanet Science Congress (EPSC) 2022 in Granada, Spain, and was followed by a 15-minute award lecture from each of the winners.

The annual award was established in 2010 to honor the memory of Italian scientist Paolo Farinella (1953-2000). The award is given to an outstanding researcher who is no more than 47 years old (Farinela was when he passed away) who has achieved significant results in one of Farinella’s areas of work. Each year the award focuses on a different area of ​​research, and in 2022, the 12th edition is dedicated to asteroids, which in recent years have become an increasingly important area of ​​interest for the scientific community.

Dr. Castillo Rogues has made significant contributions to our understanding of the physical and chemical developments of small and medium-sized solar system objects. By modeling and synthesising the existing data, it obtained information about the origins and dynamic evolution of objects from the main belt, between Mars and Jupiter, to the trans-Neptune region, that is, the region extending far from the Sun from the planet Neptune. . Her interdisciplinary expertise, which includes geology, geophysics and planetary science, has allowed her to apply increasingly sophisticated tools to understanding the geochemical evolution of objects potentially characterized by volatile elements. Dr. Castillo Rogues’ contribution was crucial to the success of Dawn’s mission to the dwarf planet Ceres: prior to the mission, her studies paved the way for understanding that Ceres may have had a subsurface ocean in the past, and may still contain brine; After the mission, her analysis of Dawn’s data developed the hypothesis that cold, medium-sized objects could be past or present ocean worlds.

Dr. Jutzi has made notable contributions to the study of collisions involving objects ranging from small asteroids to planetary scales. In particular, the sophisticated Smooth Particle Hydrodynamic Impact Physics (SPH) code has been developed specifically for the study of collision systems between small bodies where the complex effects of material strength, friction, porosity as well as gravity simultaneously determine the outcome. Dr. Gotze also successfully reproduced the evolution of the observed shape of asteroid Vesta after two planet-wide overlapping collisions, and provided maps of impact craters and ejecta deposition. He recently contributed to numerical modeling of the impact of NASA’s DART mission on the binary asteroid moon. Didymus, which showed that the young moon Demorphos may be completely remodeled by impact.

Overall, the work of Dr. Castillo Rogues and Dr. Gotze has led to a deeper understanding of the nature and evolution of asteroids, both from a theoretical and observational point of view.

Dr. Castillo Rogues holds an MSc in Geophysics and a PhD in Planetary Geophysics from the University of Rennes (France). She is currently an Associate Scientist in the Planetary Science Directorate at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (California, USA).

Dr. Jutzi holds an MSc in Physics from the University of Bern (Switzerland) and a PhD in Physics from the University of Bern and the Nice Observatory (France). He is now a senior researcher at the University of Bern.

Prior to receiving the award, Dr. Castillo Rogues commented: “I am honored to win this award, especially since there are so many deserving colleagues. The bulk of my work is based on the feedback provided by the Cassini-Huygens and Dawn expedition, both of whom are built on a very successful international collaboration. The work has been With these teams an incredible experience has led to long-standing friendships on both sides of the Atlantic. This makes receiving this award at EPSC 2022 so special. Unfortunately, I have never had the honor of meeting Dr. Farinella, even though I have referred to his work several times.” .

Dr. Gozzi said: “I am honored to receive the Paolo Farinella Prize. To me, this is an important appreciation for my contribution to understanding asteroid physics, in particular the collisions that have defined the evolution and current state of these objects – some of which are being explored by ongoing space missions as we speak. I am grateful to my scientific mentors and colleagues who helped me achieve this.”

About the Paolo Farinella Prize

The Paolo Farinella Prize (established to honor the memory and eminent figure of Paolo Farinella (1953-2000), a scientist and extraordinary person, in recognition of important contributions made in fields of interest to Farinella, spanning from planetary science to space geodesy, fundamental physics, science dissemination, and space security The award winner is selected each year on the basis of his overall research results in a selected field, from among the candidates with international and interdisciplinary cooperation, no more than 47 years old, Farinella’s age was at his death, on March 25, 2000. The award was proposed For the first time during the “International Workshop on Paolo Farinella the World and the Man”, held in Pisa in 2010, with the support of the University of Pisa, ISTI/CNR and IAPS-INAF (Rome).

The first ‘Paolo Farinella Prize’ was awarded in 2011 to William Bottke, for his contribution to the field ‘Physics and Dynamics of Small Solar System Bodies’. In 2012, the award was given to John Chambers, for his contribution to the field “The Formation and Early Evolution of the Solar System”. In 2013, to Patrick Michel, for his work on Collisions in the Solar System. in 2014, to David Vokrouhlicky for his contributions to “our understanding of the dynamics and physics of the solar system, including how pressure from solar radiation affects the orbits of both asteroids and satellites,” in 2015 to Nicolas Biver for his studies on “the molecular and isotopic structure of cometary volatiles by by terrestrial and space observations below millimeters and millimeters”, and in 2016 by Kleomenis Tsiganis for his “studies of applications of celestial mechanics in the dynamics of planetary systems, including the development of the Nice model”. In 2017, to Simone Marchi for his contributions to “understanding the complex problems related to the impact history and physical evolution of the inner solar system, including the Moon”. in 2018, to Francis Nimmo, for his contributions to “our understanding of the internal structure and evolution of icy bodies in the Solar System and the resulting influence on their surface processes”. in 2019, to Scott Sheppard and Chad Trujillo, for their outstanding collaborative work for “Observational Characterization of the Kuiper Belt and Neptune-Trojan Populations”. In 2020, to Jonathan Fortney and Heather Knutson for their significant contribution to “our understanding of the structure, evolution, and atmospheric dynamics of giant planets”. Finally, in 2021, to Diana Valencia and Lina Nowak, for their significant contributions to “our understanding of the internal structure and dynamics of terrestrial and super-Earth exoplanets”.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! is not responsible for the accuracy of newsletters sent on EurekAlert! Through the contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.